Skip to content

SMQG Friday Sew-in

Last night was a Seattle Modern Quilt Guild (SMQG) sew-in. Unappologetically one of my favorite ways to spend a Friday night.  Look up “cool quilty chicks” in the dictionary and you’ll know why. Seriously.  

Somehow I got to Friday afternoon without a firm plan on what I was going to bring. I’d pulled out a couple projects earlier in the week, but I kept sticking them back on the shelf because they weren’t quite ready for traveling. I knew better than to start another quilt (I’m not kidding), so I pulled out a couple sorta-secret projects (my subtle way of telling you not to bother looking for more than sneak peek photos), and headed north.

After a terrific dinner (both the company and the food) but seriously slow service, it was time to stitch. I finished a pillow cover pretty quickly, although I might need to tinker with the zipper a bit before it’s really done.

And then on to cutting and stitching these pretty little blocks.

It was late in the evening when I finally made the rounds for a few photos, but you can see that I wasn’t the only one hard at work. 

Yes, that’s Noelle wearing pearls while stitching the binding on her amazing HST quilt. It’s that special! 

It was a great evening, with several new faces (always exciting) and lots of visiting and the time just flew by. Luckily, it’s only two weeks to the next one!

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Awe…love it! I’m getting ready to sit on my stoop and work on a little more binding.

    May 28, 2011
  2. Selina Koreski #

    I want to come to one of the sew-ins so badly, but my husband works late on Friday nights and I don’t have a sitter for my 4 munchkins. Someday I really hope to make it. It looks like you all have so much fun.

    May 29, 2011
    • Our next sew-in is on June 11th. Let me know if you need more info.

      May 29, 2011

Leave a Reply

