Skip to content

Order from Chaos

It takes a lot to back me out of my studio, but when I got home from work yesterday it was more than I could face. It’s really not as bad as it looks (although it looks BAD), so maybe I can blame it on the sore ribs from a weekend spent laughing with crazy women.

Whatever the reason, I crashed  in my chair and spent the evening knitting.  It doesn’t look like much at this point, but so far it’s a sweet knit. The pattern is the Summer Mystery Shawlette from Wendy Johnson (WendyKnits). To be honest, I wasn’t paying any attention until I saw the first clue pop up yesterday on Plurk.

A quick dig through my (now organized) yarn stash and I found a skein of Malabrigo sock that was just the right size.  Not the most summery color, but a beautiful deep green and absolutely lovely to work with.  There were lots of stitches to cast on (it’s a bottom-up shawl), but I’m halfway through Part One and I won’t have any trouble being ready for Part Two when it comes out on Sunday.  I’m SO good at starting stuff, after all.

This afternoon is all about rolling up my sleeves and pulling the studio back together. It was the catch-all space last Friday when I was getting ready for our big weekend.  Most of the boxes have little or nothing in them, which is ridiculous. But hey – it happens!

I did finish the binding on two quilts this weekend, but I’m behind on bee blocks which is not cool and not my style.

This stack of envelopes? Returning square-in-a-square blocks. They’re wonderful!

And this stack of envelopes? Incoming  sampler bee blocks which I refuse to open until I have mine finished.

So that’s the plan the rest of the week. And after that? I feel another quilt-finishing marathon coming up.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Next week may be a big “finishing” week, or maybe catching up week for me. Good luck in your effort.

    May 18, 2011

Leave a Reply

