Skip to content

Blogger’s Quilt Festival

In all the craziness of the past month, the Blogger’s Quilt Festival snuck up on me. I had it on the calendar, I copied the button and info into a draft post, and then completely forgot it was coming up so soon. It finally occurred to me this morning that this might be the week.  And it is!So grab a cookie and a cup of tea, and go check out all the amazing quilters participating (460+ the last time I looked!)

Amy's Creative Side | Bloggers' Quilt Festival
2010 was a good year for family quilts. I finished five – each designed just for the person receiving it. Choosing one to share isn’t easy!
This quilt was made for my sister and her handsome hubby. They’re a terrific couple ~ outgoing and funny and always planning their next adventure to someplace tropical. I wanted a simple contemporary design in warm colors and fabrics – something that reflected their love of sun and sea and travel.   They’re also very proud of their Irish-American heritage,  so a little Celtic applique was needed, too.
I started with Bali Pops – 2 1/2″ strips of bali fabrics. I sorted the colors, lightest to darkest, and made simple 8″ blocks from the strip sets.  I laid out the blocks with the lightest in the center, and then surrounded it with an 8″ border for the applique.
I designed and drafted the applique layout, and then spent about 12 hours cutting, sewing and pressing bias strips.  The design was transferred to the border, and then the strips were fused (temporarily) in place.  Once the applique was machine stitched, it was quick work to finish adding the blocks, again progressing from lightest to darkest as they moved to the edge.
Most of the quilting is a simple pantograph design, with custom quilting around the applique.  At almost 100 inches square, it’s a generous queen-size quilt, and it looks lovely on their bed.
It’s so much fun when the project you have in your heart comes to life.
10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Holy cow….this looks great. All of your hard work has really paid off on this one. Nice job.

    Cheers~
    Marti in San Diego

    May 17, 2011
  2. Hi Sandie, its a beautiful quilt. The celtic border looks great 🙂

    May 17, 2011
  3. What beautiful quilts and beautiful work! Thanks for sharing!

    May 17, 2011
  4. Quite a project and the outcome is very inspiring. Thanks for posting this one.

    May 17, 2011
  5. I am a bit biased since I am a batikaholic…but it’s a gorgeous quilt…what a wonderful gift!

    May 17, 2011
  6. Seriously fabulous!

    May 18, 2011
  7. Penny G #

    I love the soutache border. I love the colors you chose. Perfection!

    May 19, 2011
  8. Totally awesome! I love the colors and the inner border – what a lovely idea to use bias tape for that!

    May 19, 2011
  9. Fabulous quilt- you have gone to a lot of trouble to make a unique gift!

    May 20, 2011
  10. Love the overall effect. I really love the applique. That just takes it to another level!

    May 20, 2011

Leave a Reply

