Skip to content

(More than) a little fabric madness

I fell flat on my butt. My best intentions went out the window this morning ~ I wasn’t buying Picnic and Fairgrounds. I really wasn’t.

Just because the whole rest of the quilting world was snapping up this fabric didn’t mean I would. Just because Joann’s was selling Denyse Schmidt fabrics didn’t mean I needed to buy it. Just because I have fabric spilling out all over the darn place didn’t mean I couldn’t get more……wait! That might have been where it all went wrong.

I went to Joann’s the first week it was in stock, counted the bolts, and then reported it in one of my Flickr groups. I did my part. Besides, if it was at Joann’s, I could get it later, right? Then came the news that it wasn’t going to be reprinted. More coming every few months, but different prints.

And to be perfectly honest, I’ll never quite get over the fact that I missed out completely on Katie Jump Rope and Flea Market Fancy. Add that to an overwhelming urge to make the perfect summer picnic quilt…..and my debit card trembled in fear.

Of the 21 prints Joann’s carried, I now have 19. I’ll keep my eyes out for the other two, but I suppose I’ll survive if I don’t find them.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. I covet your trembling debit card! Particularly for the purple and green flower print. I don’t even like purple and green much, but that one…mmm…

    April 30, 2011
  2. Oh I love these fabrics. I do hope your don’t regret your purchases. I so wish I had more than 5 prints within reach. I feel I should drive to my one last “local” JoAnn’s.

    I so can’t wait to see what you’ll do with your new founds prints. Will you wait for the “addtional” prints before you decide what you’ll do?

    May 2, 2011
    • I won’t regret buying them ~ they’re really fun. I already have plans for Fairgrounds (blue/green) fabrics, and I want a summer quilt from the whole collection (although I’m missing 2 of the current releases). It’ll be exciting to see what comes out next.

      May 3, 2011
  3. some lines are just perfect for the fabric stash and this is one of them! have no idea what i will do with mine, but i sure love them!

    May 4, 2011
    • I completely agree ~ and I get to cut into mine tonight!

      May 4, 2011
  4. Thanks for picking mine up. Must pay you!

    May 4, 2011
    • No worries – I’m pretty sure I know where to find you! ;o)

      May 4, 2011

Leave a Reply

