Skip to content

Sunday Stitches

Okay, this morning rhymed with “stitch”. I got up early to get a couple more rows done on Moulin Rouge. What I did, instead, was spend most of the time troubleshooting problems with the stitching.

  • Suddenly loose bobbin stitches: Rethread the machine and check the bobbin tension. Test sew and go.
  • Shredding the bobbin thread: Grumble. Replace the needle, which fought coming out. Re-check the bobbin tension. Test sew and go.
  • More loose bobbin stitches: Curse. Walk away. Come back. Observe the bobbin thread isn’t in the guide when I take it apart. Check instructions (clockwise or counter-clockwise?) Feel smug that I was doing it correctly, and frustrated it isn’t the problem. Replace bobbin thread.

And in between? More than a bit of unstitching, which I don’t particularly enjoy doing. Actually, I realized the third time I was pulling all the quilting from one of the fans, I actively dislike unstitching. Which is funny because I kinda dig ripping out my knitting. But it’s awkward to unsew when the quilt is on the frame, but even worse my vision is not what it was 3 or 4 years ago and it’s not likely to get better. Aging is a major inconvenience.

We’re headed out the door shortly for a breakfast date, and then chores this afternoon. I’m hoping to get back to it later, but keep your fingers crossed, please. I only have one more trick up my sleeve and if that doesn’t work it’s time to bring in the professionals. Yuck!

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. My daughter is having tension problems, too. And there is nothing like them to INCREASE TENSION dramatically. My sympathy.

    April 17, 2011
    • I decided I wouldn’t sleep well if I didn’t give it another try. I swapped out the bobbin case this time – I’m not convinced that was the problem, but she’s working now. Four rows done, and two left to go. Tomorrow night.

      April 17, 2011
  2. glad you got it figured out (maybe). I’m lost in a search for my machine. I’ve asked 3 people to go bring up my sewing machine. I’m still sitting here knitting. I might just have to go do it myself. You are such an enabler. I was at the dreadded J’s yesterday. Somehow more quilt packs endded up going home with me. But I did find some incrediblefabric for a quilt back. I can’t wait. Guess I better go find my machine.

    April 18, 2011
    • I prefer to think of myself as a motivator, unless I’m sending you fabric coupons in which case I’m definitely an enabler. Either way, it’s time to back away from the knitting and go find that machine!!

      April 18, 2011

Leave a Reply

