Skip to content

I need another bag (okay, I WANT another bag!)

I couldn’t resist ordering this remnant of organic hemp/cotton canvas from Jan DiCintio of Daisy Janie. She’s having a clearance sale on the fabrics in her Etsy shop, and I just loved this print. When it came last week, I was surprised and excited to see how well it coordinated with the Kate Spain Central Park laminated cotton I bought the weekend before at Sewing Expo.

While the irony of pairing laminated and organic in the same project hasn’t escaped my notice, I’m still on the hunt for the perfect bag pattern. The challenge, of course, is that I have a remnant of the canvas (26″x18″) and 1/2 yard of the cotton. I thought about the Bijou Traveler pattern I got last summer in Bend, Oregon while on a girls’ trip to Sister for the quilt show.  It’s too big, but I like the idea of splitting the fabrics top and bottom.

Last week I bought Amy Butler’s Sophia Carry-All from Pink Chalk Fabrics. It’s smaller, so I’m trying to figure out if I can make it work by splitting the design like the first bag.

It’s interesting how similiar the shapes are on these two patterns, but I’m not set on that. In fact, I’m open to any other suggestions at this point ~ as long as it’s something with a bit of design and structure to it. Any ideas?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

