Skip to content

Saturday = cool stuff and an unhappy sewing machine

I feel like I won the {Urban} Home Goods swap. We’re all winners, of course, but when I opened my package this week, I doubted anybody else could be as lucky:

{Urban} HOME Goods Swap - from Meg

I’m in love. I don’t know whether to use it, or hang it on the wall in my studio (slight exageration as I’ve already loaded it with my stuff.) It was made by Meg (FashionedbyMeg on both her website and Flickr) and she did an amazing job. I’m using the zippered pouch for the scarf I’m knitting. It’s so cool ~ I love the front, but the back is especially nice:

I’ll share the details on the projects I did once they’ve arrived at their destination (early next week).

Today was a sew-in for the Seattle Modern Quilt Guild. I was determined to get more work done this time. Really determined. I only brought one real project ~ the string blocks from my month (last July) of the {Modern 12} Bee. I finished pulling the papers from the blocks, and moved on to piecing the top. I didn’t move far, however, as I was using a mildly unhappy sewing machine. I pulled it all apart, cleaned as best I could without my cleaning tools, changed the needle and the bobbin, and tried again. And again. I bought the extended warranty last month, thank goodness, because her next stop is the shop. At least it’ll be all ready for Ashlee when she gets home.

I did finish the binding on my table runner, got a bit of knitting done, and had a wonderful day with creative, talented quilters. It’s just a great group to be a part of.

When I got home, I spent the evening piecing the string blocks. It’s not very big, and I still need to add a narrow white border, but I’m happy with it. I think it’ll end up hanging in my studio.

Once I get Pearl off of it.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mary Lou Finch #

    Does Pearl think she is a cat? My cats always have to approve everything I make.

    March 13, 2011
    • She’s not fond of cats (we imagine some chubby kitty must have sat on her and taunted her at some point).

      Duchess is a better title.

      March 13, 2011

Leave a Reply

