Skip to content

Shipwrecked

Lest you think this wicked crafting habit is limited to all things fabric and batting, there is yarn.

In some ways, it’s even worse than fabric. The magical properties of yarn are beguiling, the opportunities to “become” are limitless, and the voyage to mastery is fraught with peril.  Truthfully: knitting is a siren. A very bitchy siren. And “The Closet of Doom” is her island.

I am mortal. I hear the call. Usually, it starts with searching through Ravelry and stumbling across the one pattern that will change my life. I’m certain that somewhere in the closet is THE fiber. You know, the one that transforms into the perfect (insert article of clothing or accessory). Of course, once I get to the closet it begins to go horribly wrong. Maybe not at first, but it’s coming.

Hope dashed on the rocks. And why?

Either a) I can’t find damned thing in this mess or b)  I have too little or too much of any given yarn, or c) I can’t remember if I bought this for a reason, or if it’s really stash.

I have these terrific shoe cubbies for storing my yarn, except they don’t work very well.  The yarn falls on the floor, I can’t see what I have without yanking it all out, and it’s just messy. I don’t like messy. I’ve thought about making shoebox-size drawers. It would be a great improvement, but the idea of making 11 is sort of nauseating and WAY down on the to-do list.

Finding you have too much of the perfect yarn isn’t much better than not having enough.  I don’t need matching shawls and socks.  Small yardage=small projects and big yardage=big projects. Simple, right? I wish!

And when is stash not stash? I often buy yarn with specific projects in mind. It just doesn’t always STAY in mind, or I swatch and it’s a fail, and it goes into the pile.  I don’t WANT a big yarn stash. I want a very small stash, plus the right yarn for the right projects all neatly bagged and ready to go. What I have is this:

For those who are unfamiliar with yarn in general ~ that is one crappy pile of delicious yarn.  And somewhere in the future is a day spent sorting, organizing and documenting it all in Ravelry. Or I could just jab an Addi Turbo lace knitting needle in my eye and call it good.

Muses of the lower world, indeed.

P.S. This yarn is pretty much the softest thing ever, but don’t bother asking how much this scarf is going to cost me. I won’t tell.

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ashlee #

    Well I see you got my package. I’m no help. But I’d be happy to adopt some of your yarn if you ever feel like you can’t handle it. 🙂

    PS: I have been thinking lately that the shoe cubbies would work great for, well, shoes. I’m exploring other yarn storage options.

    March 9, 2011
    • I may have to take you up on adopting some of the strays. It’s out of control.

      AND I really need more shoe storage, too.

      Did you see the new Schacht Sidekick spinning wheel?

      March 9, 2011
      • Ashlee #

        I can’t look…please don’t make me fall in love with another hobby!! 🙂

        March 10, 2011
      • Fiber orientation is not a lifestyle choice. You were born that way.

        March 10, 2011
  2. I love yarn…and fabric. They are both so hard to resist!

    March 10, 2011
  3. Mary Lou Finch #

    I now longer feel so bad about my stash, and some of it is at least 25 years old. Vintage yarn! Should be ready for the picking.

    March 10, 2011
    • I’m remarkably gifted at being a bad example for others. 🙂

      March 11, 2011
  4. Ahh another one with various hobbies! My wool is squished into a vast box! Re the odd balls how about doing some knitting for charity/good cause! Very satisfying!

    March 12, 2011
    • If I had room for a vast box, I’d probably fill that, too. You’re right about the charity kniting ~ nothing feels better!

      March 12, 2011

Leave a Reply

