Skip to content

I caved (sort of),

and went to Sewing Expo. I wasn’t really avoiding it, I just wasn’t too worried about squeezing it into a busy weekend. Except I really do need a roller bag for hauling a sewing machine to sew-ins and retreats. And I was only a short drive away after I finished my first errand of the day.

I brought home some pretty cool loot, I think. I found Omni-Glide machine trolley I really like. It’s incredibly lightweight, it’ll fit any of my machines, it rolls and manuevers like crazy, and it fits inside the trunk of my car like it was made for it. Perfect, really.

I didn’t need quilting cotton, but how about laminated cottons? One half yard for a spring tote bag (in Moda Central Park North Meadow Stone) to go with my brown swing coat. The other half yard is for a soft-sided picnic basket (more on that tomorrow). The dots are labeled as Color Basic Polka Dots (Lecien?)

A trip through the Superior Threads booth and I have white, tan & black King Tut thread. Not very exciting, perhaps, but I needed them. I also grabbed a pattern and finishing kit for a laptop bag & sleeve. I want smaller bag for my work computer,  so now I can play with some ideas rather than continuing to search online for something I like.

The there’s the silk. This beautiful stuff came from Mary Jo Hiney Designs. They’re 7.5 x 10.5 inch pieces and I can’t even begin to describe how pretty they are. One package is a set of 7 in golds, black, grey and amazing tiny little black/ivory plaid. I’m thinking evening wear for Fiona and Chloe. I bought a pillow/sachet/pincushion pattern to go with the 2nd set of 11.

Not the most economical trip I’ve made to Sewing Expo (or the least, btw), but only the silk was a pure impulse buy so I can live with that. Of course, now I’ll need to find dress shoes for the dolls. Bummer.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Melinda #

    Cool stuff!

    March 5, 2011
  2. Linda Lillehammer #

    I was also there today , but didn’t run into you. I have a great stash of fun things. Love your stuff. Bring your dolls to Quilt retreat.

    March 5, 2011
    • I’m sorry I missed you. I thought the vendors were much better this year than last ~ I could have brought home a LOT more than I did!

      I’ll bring the girls ~ I’m stacking up sewing projects for them like crazy. Pure silly!

      March 6, 2011
  3. It looks to me like a good mix between necessary, desirable, and frivolous. Very healthy!

    March 6, 2011
  4. Mary Lou Finch #

    Bring the pincushion pattern please, it looks cute!!

    March 6, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Part One: Do you sew on the go? | Sleepy Owl Studio

Leave a Reply

