Skip to content

I want color

 Riots of color.  Not everywhere, but certainly in the places where I need energy and inspiration. My sewing room is bright, and if you’re not fond of creamsicles you might find it less beautiful than I do. It’s okay, you won’t hurt my feelings.

But my quilting space? Not really all that exciting. Last Fall I did finish (finally) the Lakeside Dreams quilt,, and it’s  been hanging above my HQ16. I think it’s truly lovely, and perfectly reflects the quilter I used to be. So it’s gotta go. I am happily donating for an annual auction that has seen more of my quilts than I can remember.

Kaffe Fassett Inspiration

1.  Quilt Detail 2.  Another Dresden  3.  PQS3: Kaffe Fasset Triangular Log Cabins 

But what do I want to replace it with? Something as reserved and elegant as….well, me! Some kind of Kaffe Fassett/Amy Butler/Anna Marie Horner creation that sings off-key with abandon. Something that might even require a change of lighting fixtures in the room to really show it off properly (sorry, dear husband).

Last week I got Kaffe Fassett’s newest quilt book, Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts and I’ve been studying it in the evenings. I’m contemplating a trip to Island Quilter to shop for KF (you have heard of Island Quilter, I hope?), but even as I write this I realize I have Amy Butler yardage and 3 jelly rolls of Love.  So maybe an AB drunken-garden-party quilt for Spring, and a KF drunken-gypsy-caravan quilt for the Fall?

By Red Pepper Quilts

The debate can’t go on for much longer – I only have a few short weeks before I will need to hand over Lakeside Dreams, and the wall will be frightfully bare.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Beth tays #

    Your quilts are great. Also I love the blocks from your last blog—great fabrics. Keep up the great work.
    beth

    February 10, 2011

Leave a Reply

