Skip to content

Which Stitch, Witch?

It’s not that I don’t love learning something new (I really do), but re-learning something you thought you could do in your sleep? It’s kind of a drag. 

Over the years, I’ve done crewel work, cross stitch, embroidery, and even candlewicking. And not just a bit of each, but major pieces ~ we’re talking BIG. Seriously. Last night, I started a 20-11HM project. A cute little embroidery design, just some simple redwork (or brown in this case).  What could be easier (she asks)? Let’s start with having 5 hoops, all but one either too large or too small. And the one that was just right? Not really designed for hand embroidery, but I used it anyway.

I cut up squares of Kona Snow (just saying “Kona Snow” makes me happy – I love that vanilla soft-serve color).  Oversized to fit the design…..but barely big enough for the hoop.  Undaunted – which should have been my first clue – I grabbed my supplies and headed for the living room for an hour of stitching and TV with my guy.

And merrily stitched away. To start with, but the longer I stitched the less merry I was feeling. Not getting the feel of the stem stitch? Having trouble keeping all the curves tidy. Really not all that merry by the end of an hour.

On my way home from work, I stopped and got a new embroidery hoop. I’ve studied some tutorials online, re-cut my squares, I’m using 2 strands of floss instead of 3, and I’m starting over. Stitching merrily…..

Trying it again

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Looks great! I haven’t done any embroidery in over 20 years–and I did a fair amount then. But the more I see the more I’d like to do some.

    February 2, 2011
  2. such a sweet design you are stitching 🙂

    February 4, 2011

Leave a Reply

