Skip to content

Sunday Stitches

Even with retreats and guild sew-ins, quilting is more solitary than social so afternoons like today are wonderful. Meaghan came to play a bit. She brought a very special guild project, and did more than half the quilting on it.  We kept it simple and used the same pattern boards I used for Bailey’s quilt. She’s a natural!

The batting for this project was donated by another guild member. It was the first time (but not the last!) I’ve ever used a wool batting. I’m in love with the loft and feel of it, although the fabric does want to slip more than with a cotton batting. Any recommendations for brands or sources?

I’ll put the binding on this week and it’ll be ready to deliver. Great job, Meaghan (and the SMQG, of course!) A special thank-you, as always, to the girls:

I’m not sure how we’d get anything done without your assistance!

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. I have used wool batting once for a hand quilted item and really liked it. The brand was called WoolEase or WoolEze but I can’t find it here any more.

    January 23, 2011
  2. I had a great afternoon with you Sandie! Thanks again – you’re a great teacher!

    January 23, 2011
    • Thanks, Meaghan ~ you really are a natural!

      January 24, 2011
  3. The quilt looks great! I can even see the blocks I made. I know Hobbs has a wool batting. I could look into getting some and maybe bringing it to a SMQG meeting it if you’d be interested.

    January 23, 2011
    • Cathy, that would be terrific! I would hesitate to recommend it for a home machine because it’s so slippery (you’d have to baste the heck out of it), but on a longarm (or midarm like mine) it’s really lovely.

      January 24, 2011
      • I saw that Hobbs has a few wool battings. I love wool, so I got one to try. I will be at the sew-in this Friday, so I’ll bring it if you want to see what it’s like if you’re there. I don’t usually quilt my own quilts if they are very big because my machine doesn’t work very well for that. I have one that I’m hoping to hand quilt, and supposedly wool is good for that.

        January 24, 2011
      • I’ll be there, and I’d love to see it (and you!) I would agree it’s best for either hand quilting or a longarm frame to keep the layers from shifting. See you Friday ~

        January 24, 2011
  4. Awesome!! I wish I was there.

    January 23, 2011
  5. soon i’m going to come hang out and play. that turned out awesome!

    January 24, 2011
    • I’ll make sure I have limes.

      January 24, 2011

Leave a Reply

