Skip to content

Sunday Stitches

She’s finished! I showed a sneak peek of the quilting on Wednesday, so here’s a couple more photos. I used a new pattern board for the design, eight spirals from Bayside Quilting. It only took a couple hours to do – and I’m really happy with how it came out.

I used Superior Threads “Bottom Line” in tan for the bobbin, and 50wt. Valdani white for the top.  I have really good success with both of these threads (I use the pre-wound bobbins exclusively).

Friday night I added the binding, and today I finished the handwork so I can mail it when I get home. Can you tell I’m excited to see Bailey with her new quilt?

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Beautiful work…does your long arm follow the track of the spirals or is it hand-driven? Pretty Nifty!

    January 17, 2011
    • Mine is hand-driven. The stylus on the side of the machine drops down into the grooves and you follow the track. I have several sets for quilting designs like Baptist Fan and Clamshells (designs that need to be repeated accurately to look right).

      January 17, 2011
  2. Melinda #

    Sandie,
    This is so beautiful!!! I showed Carolyn (Bailey’s mommy) and she loves it too. You are so talented!

    January 17, 2011
    • I’m so glad! I’ll have it in the mail tomorrow. Hugs!

      January 17, 2011
  3. MJ #

    Beautiful job. Just wondering if you had to make any tension adjustments for the Valdani? I’m trying to quilt using one of their variegated threads on my HQ16 and the tension is all over the place.

    January 28, 2011
    • Not if I’m using the 50wt., but I do have to loosen it up for the 35wt. I normally only use two of the three holes on the 3-hole guide (top and bottom), but I find it does make a difference to use one or three. Also, I use a size 16 needle, but with 35wt. I do go up to 18 (I’ve never tried the 20s).

      That being said, I only use the pre-wound bobbins from Superior Threads. Most tension problems I’ve had were more about bobbin adjustment than top thread.

      I hope that helps ~

      January 28, 2011
  4. Eileen Snee #

    I am interested in the comments regarding your long arm quilting machine. I’m at the wishing & hoping stage, one day soon, I hope. You’ve done a lovely job of your quilt, so fresh looking and the quilting looks great. Thank you.

    February 20, 2011
    • Thank you, Eileen. I really enjoy my machine, and I’m very grateful to have it. I never forget what the wishing & hoping stage was like for me. Good luck to you!

      Sandie

      February 22, 2011

Leave a Reply

