Skip to content

20-11HM: Babies, Moms & Grans – Bibs!

With a new baby in the family (and more than a little fabric left from piecing Bailey’s quilt) I really couldn’t do anything but pick “Babies, Moms & Grans” as my 20-Eleven Homemade Months theme for January. I had a completely different project planned (and cut out) for today’s post, but then we celebrated my niece’s 3rd birthday yesterday, and I decided to start here instead:

Bibs! Between my niece, and her 1-year-old (teething) baby brother, bibs are getting lots of use. My brother shared that they had stacks our aunt made for each baby, and they were favorites.

For the bibs I made last night, I used the pattern for the “B” version found here, with the following modifications: I omitted the pocket from the front. I rounded the top right tab to make room for hook and loop rather than the snap, and instead of using bias tape around the perimeter stitched right sides together. I left an opening at the bottom to turn through, pressed and then topstitched close to the edges.

I used cotton for both sides of these two. Do you have a favorite bib pattern? What about fabric – cotton, flannel, terry? I’d love to hear!

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. i use quilting cotton on both sides and warm and white batting in between.
    chace is 11 months old and goes through ALOT of bibs each day, such a messy eater.
    i am impressed at how the bibs hold up and wash. they look brand new.

    this is my favorite baby shower gift, along with matching burp cloth.

    January 10, 2011
    • I can’t believe that sweet boy is anything but perfect!

      I hadn’t thought of batting (which is kind of embarrassing), but I’d love to have one fewer bin of batting scraps. How big do you make them?

      January 10, 2011
      • sandie,
        i cut out 11×11 pieces of cotton and batting, then trace the bib pattern on the stack. sew on outline, leaving a hole, trim excess fabric then turn inside out.

        they tend to shrink a bit in the washer, but could certainly be made bigger.

        i got the pattern from bend the rules sewing. she uses flannel, but i wanted more absorbancy and with their being fabric on both sides they are reversible.

        January 10, 2011
  2. The fabrics are beautiful, you did a great job, I always treasure handmade baby items, how do you close them, did you use velcro?

    January 10, 2011
    • Thanks! Yes, I used velcro on them.

      January 10, 2011
  3. Thanks for posting this! I have a babyshower to go to on Saturday and this will be perfect!

    January 11, 2011

Leave a Reply

