Skip to content

Sunday Stitches – Week 2

This week I finished a mini-spiderweb quilt top, and thought it would be a great warm-up for the first machine quilting project of the year. All the print fabrics were scraps from my yet-to-be-assembled Moody Blues quilt. The quilt is 20″ square, and most of the fabrics are from Joel Dewberry’s Modern Meadow collection (which I’m completely crazy about).

To quilt the spiderwebs, I used a concentric circle pattern board. Quick and easy, even with the jumps, although I’m looking forward to my spiral board showing up (I got an order confirmation yesterday). I was worried about it looking a bit too “bulls-eye”, but it came out fine.

Feathers are one of my big challenges for this year, so I’m trying to sneak them in wherever possible. I put registration marks in the open areas (3″ & 4″ from center), so that I had something to aim for to be consistent. It worked great, and I’m really happy with the results. Now if I could just stop holding my breath when I’m freehanding the quilting, it would be much easier!

Nothing left to do but add binding and enjoy!

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. I really like it! The quilting looks good, but I can see how holding your breath would make it more difficult. 🙂 Maybe you could make yourself a “breathe” sign and hang it in view when you are quilting?

    January 9, 2011
    • That’s a great idea ~it’s not just when I’m quilting that I need the reminder!

      January 9, 2011
  2. very lovely!!

    January 9, 2011
  3. Your quilting looks great! Nice choices for both areas 🙂

    September 24, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. …Said the Spider to the Fly « Sleepy Owl Studio

Leave a Reply

