Skip to content

20-Eleven Handmade Months

“The gifts that one receives for giving are so immeasurable that it is almost an injustice to accept them.”  Rod McKuen

Christmas Day

Can you tell we like each other??

If you’re anything like me, you made it to Christmas with fewer handmade gifts to give than you wished.   I was pleased to have finished several holiday-themed projects in time to enjoy them (the tree skirt, Christmas quilt, and napkins), but the handmade gifts were scarce.  Since Christmas (or birthdays and anniversaries, for that matter) tends to happen on the same date every year, it seems a feeble excuse to run out of time.

Christmas Day

No wonder I'm motivated!

But time really is the issue. I could (maybe) have squeezed in a mad rush at the end of the year and produced a little something (nearly) special for everyone on my list.  But I would rather spend the month of December enjoying the holiday sights, baking cookies, and dreaming up holiday-themed martini recipes.  Not necessarily in that order.

It isn’t just Christmas, either. It’s that last-minute invite to dinner, the one where you could bring a bottle of wine, but you did that the last 3 times. A kindness you’d like to recognize, or an event that deserves a small token. Any time you wish you had just a little something of yourself to give.

So I thought I’d give this little idea I had a try:  a gift theme each month for the people in my life – the coffee and tea drinking, container gardening, crafting, cooking, pet-loving, traveling people in my life.  Some of my ideas, patterns and tutorials, and lots of credit and links to the amazing designers out there.  I’m calling it “20-Eleven Handmade Months”.  December doesn’t count – it’s reserved for tagging (and cranberry martinis)!

Note: I did the math – one gift each month is 11, 2 is 22 (I could go on – I always loved multiplication tables – but you get the idea).

If there is enough interest, I’ll create a Flickr group for sharing finished gifts with the hope that this will become a collaborative project.  That’s actually a not-too-subtle hint to my amazing knitting and quilting and crafting friends to share ideas or suggestions as I go along. Engraved invitations and cattle prods are not out of the question, either, if that’s what it takes.

On Monday I’ll share the new blog page, with the monthly line-up (subject to change, of course) and a place for links to all the posts as I release them, plus the January theme and first project (hint: we have a new baby in the family).

Guess I better get stitchin’!

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Michelle #

    Oh, I think this is a wonderful idea! I look forward to seeing what you come up with. 🙂

    January 8, 2011
  2. Mary Lou Finch #

    Great idea, I think I have thought of that before, but the execution never takes place. I know I need to work on the kids’ ornaments before December, especially since I know what I am making each year for years to come.

    January 8, 2011
    • I’ll certainly stay busy this year. 🙂 See you on Friday!

      January 8, 2011
  3. What a fun idea!!

    January 8, 2011
  4. I’m sewing for next year myself. So much easier in January.

    January 8, 2011
    • I agree, plus I hate having all my best ideas at the last minute when it’s way too late to do anything about it.

      January 8, 2011
  5. I’m definitely going to be following along!! Just have to get my sewing machine back from the shop. 🙂

    January 8, 2011
    • I’m sure there will be a bit of knitting, crafting and liqueur brewing along the way. And you have beautiful ideas so you better be prepared to share a few!

      January 8, 2011
  6. Great idea! I’ll be definitely stop by to see how it goes

    January 8, 2011

Leave a Reply

