Skip to content

Scrap management

I’ve never kept a lot of fabric scraps. Probably because I have tended to either buy fat quarters, which got used up, or over-buy on yardage and still have large pieces left over. But with all the beautiful fabrics I’ve been acquiring lately, and the bee blocks that take just bits & pieces, my “modern” fabric scraps are growing quickly. And with so many opportunities to use them, they aren’t really scraps anyway.

At the same time, I would like to keep the volume of these little treasures to a reasonable amount. I could clear out a drawer or shelf in my sewing room, and put them in bins, but I might be less likely to use them if I can’t see them.  So I’m trying this:

I got these jars from Ikea. I’ve had smaller ones for a while, using them for buttons, leftover yarn or, when I was doing a lot of machine embroidery, for thread trimmings with plans to use them for embellishing……uh…I don’t remember what. I’m sure it seemed like a good idea at the time.

But I picked up bigger jars this past weekend and sorted my scraps into them. Right now they’re lined up along the back of my sewing table, although they may eventually move to a shelf.  The idea was visible and finite storage – and the bonus is how pretty they are. I only need 3 or 4 more…….

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Love it! I like being able to ‘see’ them to become inspired by some unique combination not previously discovered.

    December 12, 2010

Leave a Reply

