Skip to content

11.17 W(H)IP Wednesday

I did it! My sister’s quilt is off the frame. It’s always a thrill to finally see all the work come together into a quilt. There’s a magic that happens with the quilting that is hard to describe.

Through the whole process, only a section of the quilt is visible. It also has a little tension on the layers, so they tend to flatten out a bit. But unrolled from the frame, and laid out to relax, it’s finally a quilt.  In this case, a big quilt! Excuse the funky photos ~ apparently good task lighting doesn’t make good photo lighting.

Just the binding is left, but I love the handwork. The furry girls love it, too.

So what’s next? I’m waiting for the backing fabric to arrive, but I’m loading Diana’s quilt top.

I have the machine threaded with King Tut Crushed Grapes.  Which is ironic, since I’m sure I’ve mentioned before that I like to pair my wine with whatever quilt I’m working on.

I think I know what the quilting will be. I have a pattern board I plan to use,  but I also have pantographs coming and one in particular would be terrific with this quilt. Either way, this time next week I’ll be working on binding.

Kindle love update: If you’re waiting for the tutorial on my Kindle cover, it’s coming very soon. I ordered a Belkin booklight for my Kindle, so I’m adding the option of a zippered pocket on the back that could hold the booklight or charging cord.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wow, your quilts are beautiful! Good job. What a lucky sister you have.

    November 17, 2010
    • Thanks! I’m lucky, too. She’s a sweetie.

      November 17, 2010
    • Beth #

      I am definitely the lucky one! Thank you so much Sami! I love you!

      November 17, 2010
  2. Ashlee #

    I love BOTH of these quilts for two reasons:
    1) You have done amazing work on them (as usual) and their construction and detail is impeccable.
    2) I can see so much of my lovely aunts in each one. They each exude a “spirit” that I can recognize and can’t be confused for anyone else.

    November 17, 2010
    • Beth #

      You are so sweet, Ash! They are truely works of art, aren’t they?

      November 17, 2010

Leave a Reply

