Skip to content

11.9 Mini Irish Chain

I’ve been thinking lately about starting a scrappy Irish Chain quilt. Something I could work on a bit at a time, using up scraps from other projects. Since I’m also participating in my first swap this month – My Favorite Little Quilt Swap – I decided on Sunday that I’d go through my small scrap jar and cut enough 1 1/2 inch squares to make a mini Irish Chain quilt.

There’s a surprising number of variations for such a simple pattern, but I decided to stay with a 9-patch alternating with a solid block. It took about 3 hours to cut and assemble (25) 3″ blocks. I was happy with how they came out, but with it up on the flannel board I wasn’t as sure.

I left it on the board overnight. Last night I trimmed the 9-patches, and then finished the piecing. It’s charming – 21″ square and built with scraps of fabrics I love. I’m glad I worked through the “meh”. 

Looks like I’ll be cutting a lot of little squares in the future.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. The bright colors paired with white are just too gorgeous!! You are so far beyond me in quilting ability, I’m in awe of everything you do.

    November 9, 2010
    • Thank you, Cathie, but I’ve seen your work and it’s beautiful!

      I used Kona Snow again for this project (and every chance I get). It’s such a soft color and I like the feel it gives the scrappy quilts.

      November 9, 2010
  2. I have made a couple of little doll quilts in the same size and pattern (all in pinks). Quilted them very simply and was really pleased with the results. They were fun little projects.

    Yours is lovely. I really like your fabric choices.

    November 9, 2010
  3. Just starting mine so nice to see one ahead of me!! Will keep an eye on yours!

    March 2, 2011

Leave a Reply

