Skip to content

11.7 SMQG Sew-in

On Saturday, the Seattle Modern Quilt Guild met for the first of two November sew-ins. I’m so impressed with what a fun, talented group of quilters this is. The energy in the room is infectious, and the projects are inspiring. Watching how each quilter approaches the creative process is a great lesson in how much more a quilt is than the end result.

 

 This sew-in was the most well-attended so far. Because it was a 6-hour event, there were a few that came a bit later or had to leave early, so the faces changed a bit through-out the day, which meant there was always something new to see. Or someone to catch up with. We even had a new member join us (I’ll share who in a bit).

Ara Jane brought her “Love” September quilt for do. Good Stitches {a Charity Bee}. I’ve been watching the blocks appear on the Flickr group, but seeing them all together was a special treat. This is just one of the quilts this terrific group is making, and they’re all beautiful.

Kathy was working on these adorable blocks, finishing the applique of the little handprints:

Sue had her string quilt and was adding the borders. The linen background really hightlights the blocks:

And our new member? The very talented (and bashful) Emily Cier aka Carolina Patchworks. There was a lot of excitement when she shared that her book Quilt Remix will be released next week – the previews are fantastic!

And what did I work on? My hexagon quilt, for a bit. I was being stingy with the pins, though, so when I decided I had a bit of unsewing to do to line things up better, I put it away and worked on this:

Based on Pink Penguin’s tutorial, this was a quick and easy project. I changed the measurements a bit, so I didn’t end up with as much of the solid fabric showing as the original, but I’m happy with this first one.  The brown is Kaufman Quilter’s Linen. It’s 100% cotton (“Linen” refers to the print, not the fiber content), and I’m in love with the color. It’s definitely on my list for “re-stock”.

Have a great Sunday – I’m off to quilt!

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Tracey P #

    Love the basket.
    I’m bummed I missed you guys yesterday! My girls had a birthday party right smack in the middle of the day. I’m hoping to be there Friday night.

    November 7, 2010
    • We missed you! I won’t be there Friday – somehow I managed to double-book myself – but we are going to try to sneak in another Friday night in December so hopefully that will work out.

      November 7, 2010
  2. Sounds like it was fun! I wish I could have gone…It would have been so much more fun that what I had to do instead. I hope to go next time!! I think I can!

    November 7, 2010

Leave a Reply

