Skip to content

11.2 A pressing matter

When I’m sewing, I’m constantly pressing seams. With light starch (I like Best Press), all the time.  I have a great little Rowenta travel iron (my 2nd – the first one lasted about 6 years) that I use daily. I also have both a full size iron and a steam generator (both Rowentas also) but that’s a tale for a different day.

My sewing station is set up with an ironing board at the end of the worktable. It’s a great little board made our always-charming  friend, Ed Tays. It clamps to the table and has one height-adjustable leg. Simple, elegant and perfect for my sewing room and retreats.

What it doesn’t do, however, is clamp to the newer banquet tables (the thick plastic type). Most of the places we meet for sew-ins or classes have those tables – they’re lightweight and durable so it makes sense. But I need a pressing board. I tried an insulated mat. It worked okay, but heat would still transfer through it and I didn’t want to risk damaging a table. So Ed cut me a piece of plywood from his scrap pile and rounded the corners, Jon added 3 cleats across the bottom, and we covered it with Insul-Bright, batting and fabric (in that order). It’s 12 x 22 inches, which is plenty big enough and still portable. It fits in my portfolio bag (used for carrying cutting mats, ruler, etc.)

If you make one for yourself, pick a fabric that makes your heart sing like I did. You’ll be looking at it a lot!

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. VickiT #

    Oh you are SOOOOOOOO right on those nice pressing mats!! I bought a really nice one from IKEA that is almost 3/4 the size of a reg. ironing board and has a top like a hanger to place into a closet out of the way. I never gave it a thought while using it one day and when finished I thought I was going to be sick. As I picked it up to put it away I then noticed my very large and costly cutting mat was ruined and warped VERY, VERY BAD! I almost cried. I love your other option. Wonderful idea.

    November 2, 2010
    • Oh, that’s frustrating (and expensive). Give this a try, I think you’ll be pleased. Besides being safe, it’s a nice firm surface to work on.

      November 2, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Part Three: Tools and Equipment | Sleepy Owl Studio

Leave a Reply

