Skip to content

Friday Night Sew-In

First let’s get this out of the way: There is nothing anyone can say that will make me feel worse than I already do for LOOKING at my camera all evening but not using it. It won’t happen again, I promise.

Now, for the fun stuff: I spent last night with an amazing group of quilters. Talented, creative, wonderful women turning fiber into fantastic at a Seattle Modern Quilt Guild Sew-in. Picture a Double Wedding Ring in Kaffe Fassett, a Kona cotton beauty in cool blues and greens with Ash sashing, an HST value quilt with the much-coveted Robert Kaufman chambray. And that was just the beginning!

So what did I work on?

After (I’m guessing) 15 or more quilt retreats, I’ve gotten pretty experienced at packing projects. But it turns out I have very limited skill when it comes to packing for just a few hours. I brought WAY too much yet still managed to only get 1/2 way through one of the projects. I got to this point and decided I needed a few more fabrics to really make it shine. It’s for Tamiko (Strawberrylicious on Flickr) , for the October {Modern 12} Bee.

Luckily, I also packed a 7″ grey zipper and a couple fabrics to coordinate with it. When I knew I wasn’t going any further on Tamiko’s block, I thought I’d give a zippered pouch a try. It took me about 20 minutes to build this little bag:

I have a couple little mods to make, and a bit of handwork, but then I’ll have to mail it to Ashlee. I also committed to bringing instructions to the next sew-in, so there may be a tutorial in the works shortly. As if there aren’t enough bag tutorials already!

Special thanks to Noelle and Sue for coordinating the evening. I can hardly wait for next Saturday when we get to do it again. With photos!

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Super cute. I’d take a tutorial on that. Would be a good sew-in come November for Christmas gifts.

    Glad you had fun. I have to teach on Saturday and will miss it.

    October 3, 2010

Leave a Reply

