Skip to content

A Day Trip

Yesterday, Jon and I took a quick trip down to Cannon Beach and Seaside. It started out rainy, but dried up quickly and we had sunshine most of the day. A bit of shopping, lots of looking and plenty of walking. It’s a lovely drive, too, so you can’t beat the combination for a relaxing vacation day trip.

I only took a few pictures because honestly, taking photos in Cannon Beach is just too cheesy. I couldn’t begin to do it justice, and it’s got to be one of the most photographed places in the world. Seriously. As usual, the gardens are spectacular, so I snapped a few shots of the flowers and tried not to think too much about how sad my yard is this year.  

And my Cannon Beach booty (yes, I did go with beach colors – must have been the mood I was in!):

I spent most of the evening working on the Cathedral Windows wall quilt. I took this photo fairly early, so all these “windows” have been stitched now:

So just imagine us watching the grey, hanging out and listening to the blues. It’s a tough way to spend a week, isn’t it?

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Did you go fabric shopping? Missed you at Guild.

    September 12, 2010
    • Just a little fabric shopping. I won’t miss the next meeting – I’m starting to have withdrawls!

      September 13, 2010
  2. I like how your yarn is all beach colors and then the quilt that you come home too is so bright. I love that pattern. Too impressive for my attention span.

    September 13, 2010
    • I’m prone to color phases (how many shades/weights of wine yarn do I really need?) Or worse, I’ll buy yarn or fabric and then realize it’s the same color as something I’m currently working on.

      Don’t be too impressed. All the work in Cathedral Windows is in building the base. After that it’s no different than sewing on binding and it’s finished.

      Sorry I missed you at the SMQG sew-in – will you be there in October?

      September 13, 2010

Leave a Reply

