Skip to content

Sew-Up Summer Wrap-Up

I’m pleased with my progress in the past 5 weeks.  I have a couple biggies left on the list, but I also added projects I wasn’t planning on initially, including one that snuck in at the last minute for quilting. The initial challenge was simple – finish as many projects as I could before the “new year” started. It was, of course, about so much more than that. It was about reaching out and touching family, meeting new quilting friends, pushing through challenges and growing as a quilter, wrapping up wonderful to make room for more. It was just what I needed.

The last two weeks were especially fun: beside Bodhi’s quilt (and the tutorials for it), I finished the two pinafores for Addie.  I mentioned when I was in Spokane with Ashlee that I found the pattern in her “One Yard Wonders” book. I didn’t use fancy fabric as I was guessing on the size, but they came out really cute. Pictures would have been nice, but for some reason I forgot to take them.

The sneaky quilt? I pieced the top about 4 years ago. It was a kit from Bayside Quilting, and the sample in the shop was amazing. Gorgeous custom quilting. I took pictures of it more than once, but could never really capture the thread work. Whenever I looked at my quilt top, I knew I wasn’t ready to do that kind of work. To be honest, I’m not sure it wasn’t computer quilted. This week, I was thinking again about the quilt and realized I wanted it done more than I wanted it custom quilted. Beside, I love my Baptist Fan pattern boards beyond reason. So Thursday night it went on the frame, and after work on Friday I quilted it. Fours hours (and four years) later it was finished. I’ll get the binding stitched on and Jon will help me hang it when we’re back from vacation. It’s going on the wall behind my HQ16 – maybe it’ll provide a little distraction (explanation below).

I also re-set my HQ16 frame to the full length.  It’s huge.  We’ll see how long I can live with it at 11′ before I have a breakdown. Jon is a saint – completely relaxed about the monster in our house.  I did notice that once I had a quilt loaded on it,  it didn’t seem so bad. Maybe that’s the secret?

And the quilt I loaded? Beth’s quilt – at last! Even better, I have a quilting plan for it.  I hadn’t had much time to focus on the design with all the other projects I was finishing, so as it got closer I was getting a little panicky.  I really wanted it off the frame and the binding on it so I could do the handwork next week (x2), so the pressure was on. As I fussed and fiddled yesterday, setting up the table and moving things around, I moved the bucket that holds all my rolled pantographs for the HQ16. Digging through the rolls, I spotted one that reminded me a bit of the celtic applique on the quilt. Not only was it a great fit for the space, the name of the pattern is “Erin”. I’m taking it as a sign.

So here’s the list after Week Five:

  1. Binding on the SMQG project. Finished!
  2. Quilt and bind Ashlee’s Baby Bali quilt. Finished!
  3. VQB blocks/swaps for August (Moody Blues, {Modern 12}, Pins & Needles, Bee There or Bee Square, Postcard Swap) – Four blocks finished!
  4. Make the last 4 (now only 2!) blocks for the July {Modern 12} quilt. Two blocks finished.
  5. Quilt and bind Zach’s quilt
  6. Quilt and bind Amanda’s quilt
  7. Finish piecing Diana’s quilt
  8. Quilt and bind Beth’s quilt – it’s on the frame and ready!
  9. NEW: Make Bodhi’s quilt and create a tutorial – Finished
  10. NEW: Quilt Lakeside Dreams – quilted and ready for binding

I might have squeezed in another project (or two) along the way. Getting ready for vacation (nine days without my sewing machine – gasp!), I prepped and assembled the base for a Cathedral Windows quilt. Just a small wallhanging – but plenty of handwork to keep me busy this next week. Plus I get to use all the wonderful fabrics I’ve been collecting lately, all in one place. Perfect.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Beautiful peeks at those quilts, can’t wait to see yours hanging on the wall! Have you visited http://www.WeAllSew.com yet to see what others are stitching up and sharing? Lots of great links to other quilters and sewers on the web.

    September 9, 2010

Leave a Reply

