Skip to content

Bodhi’s Quilt – Part Two

Looking for Part One? You can find it here.

Part Two – Assembling the Quilt:

Once all the blocks are pressed, it’s time to trim. Center a 9.5″ square ruler or template on top of a block. I tilted mine so that there was 3/4 of an inch of background fabric between the block points and the edge of the ruler.

I cut 1/2 of  the blocks tilted right, the other half tilted left.

Lay the blocks out and decide on your favorite arrangement.  If the seams of adjacent blocks are lining up together, rotate the block to reduce the bulk from the intersections. Sew together in rows. Press the seams either open or in alternate directions for each row.  Sew the rows together. Press.

Border: From the background fabric, cut (6) 1.25 inch by WOF strips. Cut 2 strips in half, add one piece to each of the other (4) strips. Measure the width of the top in several places, mark the width on a strip, and pin in place matching and evenly distributing any fullness. Use the same measurement for the other side, then measure and repeat for the top and bottom border.

Quilt using your favorite method.

I sewed strips of the remaining fabrics to make a scrappy binding.

And now our sweet baby boy has a quilt of his own.

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. rachelle #

    i love it. it is so different and it looks fun which will make any child happy. i cant wait to make it. thank you

    October 12, 2012
    • Thank you ~ I hope you enjoy making it as much as I did!

      October 18, 2012
  2. Thanks so much for sharing this!

    August 21, 2013
  3. Adorable quilt. Happy prints

    October 11, 2013
  4. vivian #

    this is a great pattern, it comes out really cute. One word of caution though, it is not suitable for directional prints as written. I used some prints that had to be oriented up and down because they were scenes. I didn’t understand the part of the instructions about “just flipping the block if seams are meeting up and creating too much bulk…until I started to put the blocks together 😦
    I was forced to match up my seams which made for WAY more work than necessary. So, if you choose to use a directional print, just be sure to alternate the way you frame with background fabric. Side first and then tops first on next adjoining block. It has the same effect as flipping by alternating the sides that the seams show up on which makes for much easier assembly. That’s the way I will do it next time, just requires a little more attention to plan ahead. Non-directional prints make it much easier to do without having to think about it 🙂

    March 22, 2015
    • Vivian,
      Thank you SO much for your thoughtful review and taking the time to comment. I will add a note to the instructions, and I would love to see a pic of your quilt?

      March 30, 2015
      • Vivian #

        I hope it makes sense the way I tried to explain it? When I went to put the blocks together that’s when the light went on about your note on the seams. I was so frustrated with myself, a more experienced quilter would probably not have made that mistake. Live and learn 😧😠😆
        I will try to remember to post a pic when it is finished. I had to take a break from making mistakes 😄

        March 30, 2015
      • It makes perfect sense, and I would have run into the same problem if I’d used directional prints – I just would have had the benefit of being able to edit the original instructions so nobody knew! Sorry for the frustration, but I promise it’ll be worth it in the end. 😉

        March 30, 2015
  5. vivian #

    Hey Sandie, I finally finished my quilt. How can I send you a pic of it?

    May 30, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Bodhi’s Quilt – Part One « Sleepy Owl Studio

Leave a Reply

