Skip to content

Sew-Up Summer Week Two Update ~

For Courtney Janelle

It was a terrific week in the studio.  It was a short week, too, since I was in Spokane until Monday evening. Even so, I finished the last 3 blocks for August bees (my Moody Blues block plus 2 for Courtney’s Pins & Needles bee quilt), plus got a couple more blocks finished to add to the July {Modern 12} wall quilt for Ashlee.

{Modern 12} bee - July 2010

Thursday night I finished loading Zach’s quilt, and after a couple passes I had a good sense of how the rest of the quilt would go. Pretty much just like a house on fire. Pun intended. I finished it in about an hour on Friday afternoon. I even had the binding done later that evening. It was a really fun design to quilt – and I’m working on some modifications to the quilting for future projects.

Pearl-Approved

Amanda’s quilt went on the frame as soon as Zach’s came off. It’s a bit slower going, and with the heat this week it might be another day or two before I get back to it. Can’t wait too long, though, as I’m working to a deadline of next Sunday (8/22) to be finished.

Sneak peek

The big news for this week is that I started Bodhi’s quilt. In fact, I added Bodhi’s quilt to the list while I was at it. I’m making terrific progress, and hope to not only finish the top this week, but to also post a tutorial on it before the week is through.  This quilt is going together easily, and since it’s likely to just get a simple meander quilting, it should be done in no time.

So here’s the list after Week Two:

  1. Binding on the SMQG project. Finished!
  2. Quilt and bind Ashlee’s Baby Bali quilt. Finished!
  3. VQB blocks/swaps for August (Moody Blues, {Modern 12}, Pins & Needles, Bee There or Bee Square, Postcard Swap) – Four blocks finished!
  4. Make the last 4 (now only 2!) blocks for the July {Modern 12} quilt. Two blocks finished.
  5. Quilt and bind Zach’s quilt
  6. Quilt and bind Amanda’s quilt
  7. Finish piecing Diana’s quilt
  8. Quilt and bind Beth’s quilt
  9. NEW: Make Bodhi’s quilt and create a tutorial

Planning ahead, once Bodhi’s quilt is finished it will finally be time to take the HQ16 frame up to it’s full length.  Fingers-crossed it’ll be a size we can live with (it’s not really “we” – Jon will be happy if I am),  since I have a couple queen quilts to finish in the near future. How cool is that??

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Beth tays #

    Your quilts look great. Look forward to seeing some of your work when you come to the Oct. quilt retreat. Keep it up—-Beth

    August 16, 2010
  2. I love those first blocks!

    August 18, 2010
    • Aren’t they fun? Courtney gave us a basic concept and let us run with it. I can’t wait to see how she puts it together.

      August 18, 2010
  3. Linda Gould #

    Zach is going to love his quilt! It is so like him. Good job Aunt Sandie!!!

    August 19, 2010

Leave a Reply

