Skip to content

Busy with Bees (bad pun)

Tonight I came home to 2 more blocks in the mail from [Modern 12] Bee members. I couldn’t resist laying out what I have – and it’s exactly how I pictured it!

July - in progress and beautiful!

I spent the evening working through a few more ideas for the Moody Blues Bee quilt. I took the leap and agreed to take the first month of this 16 month bee. I’ve been pondering the design for a couple weeks in my head, but it would be a shame not to try it out in EQ7 before I commit. Especially since I get to slice up all this lovely fabric and mail it out to 15 terrific quilters to work their magic. My inspiration starts with this fabric:

Moody Blues Bee fabric

I’m still making a final decision on a couple of the fabrics, and I have one or two more I may add. I just need to live with it a few more days. On to the design: it’s been so much fun to surf through all the flickr and blog photos of bee blocks. There are so many that I really love, and some amazing quilts being made. I wanted to find just the right balance between a cohesive design and a way to really show off the talent and creativity of these amazing quilters. I know many of them are new quilters, and I’m so excited and proud to work with them. I’m working with 2 different blocks: one is a repeated block (I’ll make those). The fabric will change, but the layout, strip width and placement of the white strips will be the same in every block. The alternating block will be the one I’ll send out to the other members. A modern log cabin, with a white center (which might not end up in the center!)  Width and placement of the fabrics is up to each quilter. Not wonky, but other than that it’s wide open.

Draft design

For now, the design is taped up on the wall in my studio. I think the white centers need to be a bit smaller (2 or 2.5 inches instead of 3), but I like how it’s coming together. What do you think?

Coming together

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Looks like your bee quilt is going to be really good – I love the colours it is really vibrant.

    July 15, 2010

Leave a Reply

