Skip to content

This week in the studio

After a wild and wonderful weekend away, it’s been kind of nice to get back to the (relative) calm of my studio and projects.  I did get a bit of knitting in on Evenstar, and finished the flowers and hexagons for the Midnight Garden quilt while we were in Spokane.  This little wall quilt is going quickly now, and you can see the progress in the photos. Next step is the applique, and then the quilting. The flowers are appliqued on after the quilting is done.

Other things I worked on this week:

I spent 2 evenings updating the blog layout. My efforts were clumsy and time consuming, but I’ll keep at it. I thought it would be simple (like me!), but it didn’t turn out that way. It’s good enough for now, as I think content is a little more important than whether I like my fonts!

12 more blocks for the Hexagon QAL. Unless something surprising happens to change my mind, I’ve picked the layout for this quilt. I think we’re down to the last block pattern (Julie will release it this weekend), so I can pick my favorites to finish the rest of the blocks. Did I mention I want this to hang in our diningroom, and that we’ll need to paint first?

Trimming blocks for Diana’s quilt. I love this project. Seriously. I think I’m just over halfway. Did I mention I love it?

Almost finished with Clue 4 on Evenstar – finally! I have fallen behind, and now the Moonfleet KAL is starting. I’ll squeeze in some time this weekend.

I moved my HQ16 frame a bit – the next 2 quilts are approximately 100 inches square (queens) and I have to take the frame up to it’s full size. Thank goodness Jon doesn’t mind walking around it, because I think it might stay at full length for the forseeable future. (Thank you my Darling!)

I have lots of things going on the next couple weeks. Dates have been set for No Sew and Quilting meetings (May & June respectively) of the Seattle Modern Quilt Guild. I met several of the members for dinner a couple weeks ago and am looking forward to learning more about them. There’s a Machine Quilters of Puget Sound meeting coming up next weekend. I haven’t been in awhile, so I’m looking forward to it.  Also next weekend, we have tenative plans to meet another couple downtown for drinks on Sunday afternoon. She’s a Plurk buddy of mine, and they’re in town (from CA) to see family and go on a cruise. Fingers-crossed we’ll get all the details worked out!

The big excitement coming up is twofold – I’m planning to participate in the Sew Mama Sew May Giveaway Day. It’s Monday, May 17th, and it’s one of the reasons I wanted to clean up the blog a bit. It just sounds like so much fun! The other event I’m looking forward to is the Blogger’s Quilt Festival (May 21-28). I have plenty to do to get ready for both. Click on the badges on the far right sidebar for more info on either event.

Lots more to share, but it’s late and I can hear the whole gang snoring. I better head that way.  Thanks for visiting!

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. Lovely give-away! Of course I would like to win.
    Trish http://www.quilttalesandcattails.com

    May 17, 2010
  2. This is so cool! I can’t believe all the detail work that must have gone into this! Wow!

    May 17, 2010
    • Are you kidding? Compared to your dolls, this is simple. They are amazing!

      May 19, 2010
  3. Jacque Leibfried #

    wow – beautiful fabrics.. I can see why you didn’t cut into them. but that won’t stop me LOL

    pls enter me into your drawing.

    jleibfried@aol.com

    May 17, 2010
  4. Beth #

    Beautiful fabrics! I love the name of your blog.
    Thanks for the giveaway!
    bcgood83@yahoo.com

    May 17, 2010
  5. Barbara Colvin #

    Midnight Garden is very inspiring. I started a quilt using some pinks and purples last year. I had a vision in my head, but it just wasn’t coming together in fabric! I think I was expecting too much from just the fabric itself. I need to do some applique and maybe some of those folded flowers to make it come to life!! Isn’t blogland wonderful? ;o)
    Glad I found you via the Sew, Mama, Sew! giveaway.

    May 17, 2010
    • Blogland is definitely wonderful! I used folded flowers (from a different book) once before. They are ridiculously easy, but add so much drama. Between the flowers and the hexagons (all done while we were on a road trip), I was most of the way there before I knew it. I should have it quilted in the next week or two (it’s 2nd in the queue). Thanks for visiting ~

      May 17, 2010
  6. Ooo I love this.. I hope I can make one fpr me..

    May 18, 2010
  7. carolyn #

    such lovely colors. I know how it is to have that certain bunch that you just cannot seems to cut. I like your web site. carolyn

    May 18, 2010
  8. Lori Mahar #

    Lovely fabrics. I don’t blame you for not wanting to cut into them!

    nanny_lor4@yahoo.ca

    May 18, 2010
  9. Leah #

    The quilt with the origami flowers is amazing. I have two books with similar folding techniques and patterns, but haven’t managed any of them yet. But seeing yours makes me want to try.

    May 18, 2010
    • Leah, they are really simple. I did the first step at home (stitching 2 fabrics, turn, press) and then took the flowers with me on a road trip. Give it a try ~ you’ll be so happy you did! I think the next ones will go on a tote bag or pillow.

      May 18, 2010
  10. Dianne #

    Thanks for the generous giveaway. I have plans awhirling in my head for three little girls I know, so pick me.

    May 18, 2010
  11. I’ve never seen anything like your Midnight Garden quilt . I think it is fantastic.

    May 19, 2010
  12. Gosh, what beautiful fabrics. Very generous giveaway. I’m already dreaming of what I’d like to create with it, should I be lucky enough to win.

    Such fun!

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

    May 19, 2010
  13. Love this! Great inspiration.

    Thanks

    May 19, 2010
  14. Fabulous giveaway and I like your blog!

    May 19, 2010
  15. I think I would make a pieced miniquilt or table runner.

    May 19, 2010
  16. Temima #

    I totally understand being afraid to cut into amazing fabrics. Still, would love to give them a try 🙂

    May 20, 2010

Leave a Reply

