Skip to content

Planning for creativity

 

Tomorrow we’re off for a long weekend. My talented, creative, beautiful girl is graduating from college.  Shocking, really, but there’s enough logistics involved the next couple days to keep me from focusing on that part. Four days, lots of family going (15 or so), a 5 hour drive each way, an invite to a BBQ, hotel with swimming pool, restaurants, etc. Not to mention laundry and packing and boarding dogs and oil changes and…you know the drill.

So it’s decision time:

  1. I cut a couple dozen 1 1/4″ hexagons papers for my Midnight Garden quilt, and if I bring the background with me I can make the hexagons AND applique them in place.
  2. I’m playing a bit of catch-up (maybe more than a bit) on my Evenstar shawl. It is lace, so when I have quiet time….IF I have quiet time.
  3. I could cast-on for Brandywine in the amazing yarn I got from Liberty’s YarnSockingbird in Lucia. So pretty, and so tempting, but I really am trying to finish something – anything.
  4. I also have a pair of socks I started last year from Wendy Johnson‘s book “Socks from the Toe Up”. Knit in gorgeous Lisa Souza Sock yarn (The Shores).  I think I got lost on the heel turn (nobody’s fault but my own – I haven’t done many toe-up socks). It’s a beautiful light cream/blue/green yarn, so it might be a good car project with lots of time to noodle out where I got stuck.

Did you think I was going to put it up for vote? Sorry. Now that I look at the list, it’s easier to choose.  #1, 2 & 4 (and maybe #3). How’s that for decision making?

I’m also trying to figure out how I can sneak off for a trip through Paradise Fibers. I’m hoping to see the Schacht Matchless in person. Yes, I have heard every voice that said “try all the wheels before you pick one”, but that darn thing makes me want to weep just looking at pictures of it.  I’m months away from buying (no, really), but if I could just touch it…..swoon.

I am bringing my laptop (of course) so hopefully I’ll post a few updates and photos along the way.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love the way that sock yarn is striping! And bow to your lace ability — I still haven’t started Evenstar (for the 3rd time). Brandywine is another story — it’s moving along beautifully.

    You have some good travel choices there, so whatever you take will be fun!

    May 5, 2010
    • I started my Evenstar 3 times, also, and I’m glad I did. The first 3 clues go so quickly, it wasn’t really an issue. But this will be my 2nd attempt at Brandywine. I love the pattern, but wasn’t really happy with how the original yarn behaved. It’s a beautiful merino/tencel blend, but it had more drape than structure. I think this new yarn will be much better.

      I love Lisa Souza yarn – and this colorway is so pretty. I just need to figure out where I was when I put them down the last time……

      May 5, 2010
  2. Teresa Mitchell #

    You’re just like me. I can’t go away without taking something to do.

    May 17, 2010
  3. I really need to try doing hex’s. Do you sew to the papre or just use the paper as a guide?

    May 19, 2010
    • I’ve seen it done both ways. I prefer to sew through the paper (I just use typing paper and my inkjet printer). I found this hexagon generator to be helpful – you can choose the size and it will generate a page of hexagons for you: http://incompetech.com/graphpaper/hexagonal/ . I think you’d need to use thicker paper if you’re just using it as a guide. Or you can buy the hexagon paper already cut. Give it a try and see how you like it. It’s a great take-along project, and depending on the size of the hexies it can go fairly quickly.

      May 19, 2010

Leave a Reply

