Skip to content

Yes, I got a little distracted

It happens sometimes.  Okay, all the time. You may or may not know this about me, but here it is: I have more ideas than I have sense. More ideas, more inspiration, more projects, and more people I want to quilt and knit and generally gift to death with the handmade and heartfelt.  That includes myself on occasion.

So last night, on the way home, I had an idea for a wall quilt. No idea where it would go, or what fabric to use (besides the background – more on that in a minute).  Or even the design, really. But I noodled a bit, and napped a bit, and off to the studio I went.

I had a couple dozen squares left from cutting out the quilt this weekend. Deep, beautiful purples that I squared up and sewed together. Then off to the shelf for a book and set of templates I bought several years ago.  Kumiko Sudo’s beautiful book  Flower Origami. And finally to the stash. Which would imply I looked in one place. I didn’t. Stash management is a little weak right now. Some fabric came from a recent fat quarter swap, some came from a group I collected for another project that I have changed my mind on but not returned the fabrics to where they belong (the shame!!), and some I actually pulled from their proper location. That confession over, what matters is I think I got the job done.

So here’s the plan:  Wild folded flowers (in 2 different colors), a spray of crazy green hexagons, perhaps a bit of appliqued leaves, and lots of machine quilting. The background is done, the flowers are ready for folding, and the hexagons are traveling with me this weekend. By later next week, I should be finished.

And BTW, I found the perfect place to hang it, too.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. I am on the edge of my seat waiting to see what this will become!! You are one heck of a good art quilter!!!

    May 4, 2010
  2. Holly #

    I’ve never seen anything like this! So pretty! And I like the candid description of your inspiration/process 🙂

    May 17, 2010
  3. gill #

    WOW – I’ve got this book too but I’ve never made anything from it!!!

    Gill

    May 17, 2010
  4. I’d rather have the ideas than the sense any day!

    May 17, 2010
  5. Oooh, it looks like little origami! Love it!!

    May 20, 2010

Leave a Reply

