Skip to content

Quilting with Intention

I often quilt with intention.  Most of my quilts are gifts, the designs (either by myself or others) and fabrics chosen specifically for the recipient.  It belongs to another, right from the beginning, and the time I spend is often meditative and mindful. I really believe that the thoughts that go into each one are felt by those who receive them.  And since I have a big family and wonderful friends, there’s really no end to the opportunities to be inspired. I just wish I could create a little faster!

Part of my 10K Hours commitment is to explore different quilting methods and techniques, to take my designs in directions I have not yet tried.  Another form of quilting with intention, I suppose, but with the intention of moving beyond trusted skills and into freedom and creativity.  I’m still working through what this might look like: perhaps a quilt-as-you-go type block each week. Because I have an HQ 16, I do virtually all my quilting on it. I love the machine, but if every project is a bed-sized quilt, it doesn’t leave much time or freedom to experiment. I’ll have to ponder this a bit longer.

This past weekend, I finished putting together the “Spring in Bali” quilt top. I won’t be quilting it for a few weeks, but thought you might like a sneak peak at it.  Besides the quilt top, I was able to spend some focused time on my Evenstar shawl. I’m playing a bit of catch-up on it, but that’s okay.  It’s an amazing lace project, and I got stuck on a row that I couldn’t memorize, and couldn’t work on while visiting. I’m really happy to be moving along on it again! I also blocked a couple shawls: Azzu’s Shawl (for me) and Traveling Woman for Ashlee.  A few weeks ago, a friend on Plurk mentioned that Hazel Knits (a local dyer) had a colorway “Hometeam Baseball”. How could I resist anything in Mariner’s colors?  I’ll  share more photos when they’re being worn ~

Ashlee will be home the next few days, so the sewing room will be transformed into a guest room. Never fear, I have plenty of projects to keep me busy!

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. That is one GORGEOUS quilt up there, lady. I *love* the whole modern thing and if I could sew without injuring myself or others, I would love to try it.

    Sadly, I have scars…literal *scars*…from the time I tried to make a quilt. (Sewed through my index finger. Seriously. I’m as coordinated as an epileptic warthog, apparently.)

    April 27, 2010
    • And that whole “runs with scissors” thing gets really scary when it’s a rotary cutter.

      Thanks, Elli. This one is for somebody special.

      April 27, 2010
  2. I love your Spring in Bali quilt top.

    May 17, 2010
  3. The shawl is amazing. I love the color. I have knitted “a little”. I am always intrigued by complicated patterns. I wish I lived somewhere that had knitting classes. I would love to learn to knit socks and lacey things.

    May 17, 2010
    • I’ve only been knitting for 3 years. I love making socks, but right now I seem to be making shawls more than anything else – it might be that they’re so easy to fit! There are so many great books out now, you probably don’t need a class. And I’ll bet with a little online research you can find someone close to help you with the llama fiber!

      May 19, 2010

Leave a Reply

