Skip to content

Life in (and around) the studio

Last week at this time, I was thinking about what to pack for a girls-only weekend with several of my favorite girls. Little did I know, my sweet sister would surprise us all with a visit from our sister Min. While it makes me sad that so many years have gone by since I last hugged her, it was really like no time had passed at all.  Lucky families are like that.

Just a few things to update in the studio. Last weekend, I did finish a shawlette (in Hometeam Baseball by Hazel Knits) and will block it this weekend. Tuesday evening, I finished the applique on the batik quilt, and continue to work on the tutorial for it. I’m so excited about this project. I have 108 blocks to lay out this weekend to finish it. I started with the lightest blocks in the center, then a round of applique, and the medium-to-dark blocks are next. I can’t wait to see it all together.

I also started the hexagon blocks for Jaybird Quilts Hexagon QAL. I’m in no hurry on this one, but I love the fabrics and picked it it for my dining room wall. We’ll need to paint, but we were planning on it anyway.

I got my mini MOO cards, so I’ve got my fat quarters ready to mail out for the swap (I wanted the cards to include in the packages). Great fabric, and adorable cards (thanks again to Casey, for our wonderful logo!)

This Friday, I’m headed to a No-Sew Meeting of the Seattle Modern Quilting Guild. I joined in early February, but have had a conflict every meeting (some were quilting related, in my defense!) It looks like it’ll be a small group this time, but I’m looking forward to it. It’s suppose to be a bit of a show & tell, which is always a challenge for me. I have pictures, but very few examples of my quilts (they all have other homes).  I might have to borrow a couple of them for the evening. But I’m going happily either way, and counting the time against my 10K hours. Networking with other quilters is not a task, but a gift I’m giving myself.

That’s about it for the past week. I’m still looking for a good time tracker for WordPress (any suggestions would be welcome – keep in mind I’m a novice here!), and I’m also looking for a great design for a french bulletin board or something similar for an inspiration board. Again, I’m taking ALL ideas here!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

