Skip to content

It’s finished…and just in time!

 I’m so pleased with how this quilt came out. Made for the 2010 Three Tree Montessori Auction, I named it “Sweet Dreams”, and sweet it is. With the exception of the white fabric in the bordered 9-patches, the entire quilt was made from stash fabric collected over the last 4 or 5 years. The colors never really found a home (or so I thought). Not many girly-girls in this family! Funny, though: from almost the first stitch, all the wonderful women in my life have been coveting it. It’s probably a good thing that it ended up an auction quilt ~ any fighting over it will, in the end, benefit somebody else and I will be held blameless (that’s the plan, anyway!!)

I started the quilt at the February Quilt Retreat, and finished the scalloped border at the March retreat. My first scalloped border, and although I have plans for more I do think there are better tools than the one I used. So much better, in fact, that I might have ordered one already!

The pattern is a very simple bordered 9-patch, set on-point, with a quick and easy ribbon stipple for the quilting. This is the 3rd quilt in a row (the Wedding Quilt and Anniversary Quilt being the first 2) that uses so many different fabrics. I’ve discovered there is sort of a tipping point once you get enough fabrics in. After that point, you really can’t go wrong with layout, colors and placement. It’s very forgiving, and I’d have to give this one high marks for fun & easy.

Want more pictures? Sneak over to my Flickr page and check it out.

PS: I’ll let you know how it does at the auction on Saturday!

Update: $500 went to Three Tree Montessori. A huge “Thank you” to my dear friend Judy for being the high bidder. It was just meant to be hers!

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hubby #

    You have made many outstanding quilts, everyone of them have their own personality and character. You are an artist!

    XO

    March 24, 2010
  2. morandia #

    beautiful!!! I wish I had your color sense!

    March 24, 2010
  3. Libby #

    Thank you! xxxooo

    March 31, 2010

Leave a Reply

