Skip to content

Just in time for picnic season

I’m not often hesitant to cut into my fabric. I may be fooling myself, but I don’t think I’ve ever bought any I didn’t intend to use at some point.

But then I was late to the Katie Jump Rope party. Really late.

Okay, I didn’t even get the invite.

When my 50th birthday rolled around (a while back – ahem), I was gifted several stacks of 6.5″ squares from my Seattle MQG friends. Many of the prints in the stack from Katie were KJR. I fell in love, of course. Eventually I started collecting from etsy and online sources. Generally scrap packs or odd yardage. I was lucky to NOT get stuck paying the ridiculous prices some of it was going for, but it was precious none the less. So it went in the “saving for someday” cupboard.

When my sister in law mentioned she would love a new picnic quilt, I knew someday had arrived.

I did some rough calculations, and then started cutting. Because I had so many different sized pieces, I worked from the outside in. Setting aside fabrics large enough to cut the setting triangles (once I knew how many I would need), I started by cutting 9.5″ squares, then 5″ squares, to 3.5″ squares. I kept cutting progressively smaller pieces until I was down to scraps. And then I went to work on the scraps, randomly piecing strips and squares until I had enough blocks.

I threw in some solids to break things up a bit (and have enough to finish the top), and I know a bit of Flea Market Fancy sneaked in (including most of the back from the reprint), but otherwise it’s all KJR.

It turned out to be a perfect first project for the Gammill. Big, bold, lots of space to play. VERY forgiving. With Krista’s advice, I alternated straight lines with curved fills (paisleys, loops & swirls) and piano keys on the setting triangles.

The back and binding are both pieced. I love seeing the stitching on the solid fabrics, the little bit of print in the otherwise solids binding (it’s there somewhere but you’ll have to trust me on that).

She’s all packed up and ready for a trip to the post office.  And the park, of course.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. That was the best sewing day too;)

    July 8, 2014
  2. How beautiful! Backing is amazing as well… I need to start getting more creative with the backs of my quilts!

    July 8, 2014
  3. I love seeing the quilting on the solids on the back as well (beautiful pieced backing, by the way). What a wonderful gift!

    July 8, 2014
  4. Congratulations on your first new machine quilting project, the quilt and the quilting are gorgeous! I got to sew on afriend’s Gammill for the first time last week and I think it made me go completely nuts with joy.

    July 14, 2014

Leave a Reply

