Skip to content

Fab AND finished ~ Madie’s diaper bag

It took me the longest time to even start typing this post. Seriously, I have so many things to share I couldn’t decide where to begin. But how about one of my very favorite finishes (finally!)? I’m infatuated with bags of all kinds, but Madeleine’s diaper bag really rocks.

I started with the Hip Mama Diaper bag tutorial, and some amazing fabric from Drygoods Design. Keli has the most beautifully curated fabrics and her service is exceptional.  Outside Oslo Fronds in home dec weight and Anna Maria Horner laminated cotton (Coordinated Saffron from Field Study), all wrapped in twine with a pixy stix.

(Confession time: See the pixy stix? No? They usually only make it to the car.)

I did a few minor exterior mods to the pattern, including a full zipper and extra lining on the back pocket and self-edging the front and side pockets with the lining fabric.

And just because I’m crazy, the magnetic snaps were perfectly applied with graded interfacing:

On the inside, I changed the pockets just a bit. Rather than turning a hem and stitching a casing for the elastic, I cut the pocket piece twice the height I needed, folded it in half, and then just topstitched to form the casing.  Less bulk, and a pocket finished on both sides. Quick and easy, too.

One last change was incorporating these snazzy loops for attaching it to the stroller. The idea came from another great diaper bag, the Two in One stroller bag from Ashley at Make it and Love it . She designed a convertible shoulder strap, but I went for something simple. I will say on the first try I used snaps, but I’m guessing there wasn’t enough interfacing so they didn’t hold. In the interest of getting it finished (before our sweetie is a month old!), I went hook and loop.

I love the size and shape, and I’m quite tempted to make another just because.

And the best part of all? Yet another reason to go snuggle Madie Jean, of course!!

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. What a beautiful bag! And a beautiful baby : )

    November 26, 2012
  2. if delivering baby things means extra time to cuddle the baby, I’d be sewing up a ton of little pressies for baby if I were you :)

    November 26, 2012
    • You’re on to me! So far it’s working great. :)

      November 30, 2012
  3. This looks great! I love to make stuff for my nephew and his mom so I can go visit.

    January 6, 2013
  4. Chaye #

    This looks like a beautiful bag! Did you use bias tape on the outside pockets? I realy want to make this adorable bag!

    November 4, 2014

Leave a Reply

