Skip to content

I have a plan! (cue the happy music)

IMG_3010

I wrote a long, drawn-out post the other day about the planning process for my picnic quilt.  It’s easy to summarize: a specific list of  “wants”,  lots of ideas,  hours of design and drafting, and absolutely nothing to show for it.

By the time I was finished, I had no idea WHAT I wanted, and I deleted the draft post.

Then I  stumbled across a couple quilts that had me all the more anxious to get the design settled.

First was Ashley’s (of Film in the Fridge) picnic quilt.

The second was AmandaJean’s (crazy mom quilts) Easy as Pie quilt.

Both quilts made me want to just chop up the entire stack (Picnic AND Fairgrounds) and go for it.

 

Instead I went back to the drawing board (so to speak), and came up with a medalion layout. The challenge all along has been using the large-scale prints, so I think this will work. Here’s the (rough) plan:

I love the red & white plaid, so I’ll start with 16″ center square. An 8″ wide round of pieced blocks with the plaid as corner blocks. A round of blue floral/stripe, again with the plaid as corner blocks.  Repeat until it’s the size I want – probably 5 rounds total for 98″ square. It’ll be more scrappy than the diagram, but I wasn’t in the mood to color all the blocks separately.

Will it feel like a picnic? I think so – and I love a quilt made for lazy days.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Tami Thuurston #

    That’s quite a plan. Can’t wait to see it finished.

    May 21, 2011
  2. You should consider doing it as a quiltalong. I’ll bet people would join you. Just a thought.

    May 21, 2011
    • Ooohhh…that’s a cool idea.

      May 21, 2011
  3. Roz #

    I love the design/fabric…another winner!

    May 21, 2011

Leave a Reply

